Waverly takes Gilbert-Brown title

The 2019 Gilbert-Brown baseball tournament champion, Waverly, poses for a team photo. In the front row from left, are Cooper Skovira, Peyton Lawson, Levi Kraft, Cooper Hugo, and Brody Lambert. Standing from left are Kenson Hugo, Maddex Presher, Brayden Bowman, Leland Stark, Avery Bowman, Axel Murray and Jax Myers. The coaches are Pat Bowman, Lee Sharpsteen and Eddie Myers.

ATHENS — Down 4-2 after a four-run Athens rally in the third inning, Waverly scored the last three runs of the game to top host Athens 5-4 and win the championship of the Gilbert-Brown Tournament.

Waverly got on the board first when Brayden Bowman singled and scored. Brody Lambert also had a single in the inning.

The visitors from the north made it 2-0 in the second when Jax Myers walked to lead off the inning and came around to score.

Athens’ third was fueled by patience. Waverly pitching struck out 16 batters in the 18-out game, but six walks in the third inning advanced the home team’s cause. Eli Wayman, Tyler Pelchy and Jacob Saxton each walked and scored in the inning. Shea Davidson had the lone Athens hit in the inning — a double — and also came around to score.

Now down a run, Waverly made it a one-run game in the bottom of the third. Bowman recorded his second single of the game and scored. Lambert also had his second hit of the game when he laced a double.

Both teams went quietly in the fourth inning, but not the fifth.

Saxton opened the fifth with a single for Athens but Waverly stranded him on base.

In the bottom of the fifth, Waverly’s Peyton Lawson worked his way on with a one out walk, and then moved up when Kenson Hugo walked. Cooper Hugo clubbed a double and the game was tied going into the last inning.

Athens went down in order in the top of the inning.

In the bottom of the inning, Alex Murray connected for a one-out double and scored on a single by Lambert.

Load comments